The Leaf

There were two friendly strangers pacing beside one another in anger…

One was called Truth, the other went by Danger…

Truth was steamed because Danger abused his words…

Danger was ticked because it seemed as if Truth was taking the credit he deserved…

As they marched furiously ahead, they came across a human and stopped to question him…

Which of us do you prepare to have by your side?  Tell us.  We shall be silent and listen…

The man looked up from beneath the brim of his hat, and this was his reply…

“Danger I have need of, for a man who doesn’t take risks can hardly be counted as a man at all…”

Danger smirked as the man paused…

“However too much of that rush boosts my pride and I cannot afford to keep choking on my own exhaust…”

“Truth you are invaluable to my daily life… accomplishing my goals… loving my wife…”

The man hesitated, then removed a leaf from a nearby tree…

“It is easier for me to put trust and faith in this leaf for it requires nothing from me… But all too often Truth leads to some sort of Danger, kind of like a new born baby being lain in a manger…”

The man looked them square in the eyes…

“Danger requires too much balance… Truth requires too much awareness… I have learned to let my ambition guide me along my path, and let my own code of morality be my Sheriff…”

He stepped between the two of them, then looked back…

“If I see you, I see you… If I don’t – then that’s that.”

The man slipped his hands in his pockets and continued on his way…

The leaf floated down to the ground, until the wind exhaled… and blew it away…

Leave a Reply

