Trying To Quit

The challenges that press you to maintain faith are not verification that you’ve given it up…

 

I’m feeling strange, my ambition is different…

I was crushed today, then I sprang back to life shiverin…

My normal reaction is to be down and out…

But today I wasn’t – what was that about…?

I was mad, I was irritated, doubts were in my mind…

Wanted to cuss, settled to fuss, no silver lining this time…

But in spite of all that, my resolve did not fall flat…

Tortured by the Gospel – nothing else helps, so I must cling to that…

Despite my reservations, and my table of quit waitin…

Drove right on by that establishment, to a place that served only Wine…

Clinking their glasses together, the ring of the Divine…

Inside myself I would not sip, but yet my hands moved glass and bottle…

“A Toast,” they all said.  “A toast to keep our faith, and any contrary force hollow.”

 

The challenges that press you to maintain faith are not verification that you’ve given it up…

 

 

 

 

 

~The Wordsmith

Leave a Reply

