In My Rocking Chair

The flowers are falling today

Soft, and gentle on the wind

I remember when the bloom was just a seed

I remember the dirt it was thrust into

The sun coaxed it out

Inspired it to speak

I remember how shy it used to be

But it’s fragrance.. oh such a wondrous scent

Precious, and sweet

And now – the flowers are falling

Yielding to the earth’s government

Dying to self, to bring forth even greater beauty

The petals swirl along

Breathing history into soulful tunes

This porch supports my body

But the flora buoy my soul

… The flowers are falling today…

**

~The Wordsmith

Leave a Reply

