Anti Cupid

Are you waiting on me to do something?

Perhaps call you specifically by name…

*

I joke and I play, and offer my umbrella

But you turn away and leave me in the rain

*

I feel your eyes, like a sniper’s sights

But you never take the kill shot

*

Strike me down with your love

Let us resurrect a marriage

*

I used to believe that a good heart sufficed

I used to believe that light could repulse the night

*

But then I encountered you and your kind

So declarative, yet unable to make up your mind

*

Smiles, hugs, and flirty eyes

But then you just wave and let me pass by

*

I am perplexed above all and plagued by my want

If I had my choice – the notion of love I would have willingly forgot

*

However, stuck in this dimensions I am

Your ever changing emotions, leavin me greener than eggs and ham

*

So I shrug

It’s all I can do

*

Try and find something worthy to tune into

Some nourishment that will distract from the primary food group – you

*

I no longer know what it is you are expecting of me

Heart, compassion, empathy, integrity – I have all of these

*

Only conclusion?

Despite your claims, you’re not looking for me

*

I believed you were, which resulted in so low me

And now – it’s just solo me

**

~The Wordsmith

Leave a Reply

