The Unfortunate Sorrow

I waited for you…

I defended you, cried, wrote letters…

But you never came.  You never returned to me.

The darkness is my silence witness, at how your absence slowly drove me witless…

WHY DIDN’T YOU COME FOR ME!!!

Was I worth nothing?

Oh but out in the city and upon the open road, the love was two-fold, and you boldly rose me like red petals and declared me GOLD…

But like the lack of a sequel there was no return.

Like the first step on a rope stretched tight, or dying without receiving the light – there was no going back.

And I know your back was something you never turned, for a man’s strength was the strength of your concern, but ohhhh this once I wish I could set hand to the past and burn it…

I waited.

I sobbed.

I was strong.

I prayed.

I was FAITHful…

And now…. for nought.

Nothing is the embitterment upon my tongue…

And yet – yet I cannot be angry at you, for even you did not have the power to create life, or restore it….. You could only defend it, until you were separated from it.

I think of you all the time as I lay in my bed….

Wondering always wondering….

If I will be more whole staying on earth and gaining superlative strength –

Or clipping the cord myself and joining you amongst the dead.

 

 

**

~The Wordsmith

Leave a Reply

