Letter To Nicki Minaj

Dear Nicki Minaj,

I had a moment as I watched MTV portray your own…

For the longest time my soul was an a-hole as I stuck my nose down at you… This newest hip-hop diva to break into the scene, rocking the stages with rocker hair every shade of every hue…

I felt nothing but disdain.

Though Christian I proclaimed to be- and indeed I am- I dropped the love from my hand, and scooped up two tons of sand, to rub the image I had of you raw.

My vision flickered between what my pride and the world saw, I was a road hog, knowing the world was wrong, but filling my lanes of thought with slop… about you.

But today something changed.

Seeing your face, and hearing your story, crippled me suddenly and I needed a cane… and Jesus was right there for me.

Trinidad… crack dad… big family… poverty… struggling- always struggling…

And the love for your mother.

A story tugging on my heart strings, not simply for sake of dramatic melodies, but because I could see the Trinity in it…

God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

The tears that trickled down despite your best efforts to retain, reached deep into my tear ducts and caused my to do the same, and as I watched you hold hands and pray, fighting against violence, calling on the strength of day, seeing the words leave your lips, touch Heaven, and return with God’s kiss… I realized something.

You and I – we are the same.

And as you sealed your petition with the name- Jesus Christ who was raised- Eden’s flowers burts forth from the dirt of my heart and God fixed my gaze.

So firstly I apologize- both for conjuring  and believing the lies.

And secondly I commit my time to pray… for you, yours, and mine.

And yes to your surprise, I’m not like other guys, assessing your butt size, tryna get inside…

I looked at you and saw my God, and amidst all the applause, I saw your heart for lost, and realized- we’re connected by the Cross.

This letter is to let you know that you are not alone for the nights you feel iso…

This letter is to let you know that every guy isn’t lusting for your body when you feel you have nobody…

This letter is to let you know that you have support- every missionary needs it…

I hope that this letter reaches your eyes, and touches your heart…

I pray that the Holy Spirit would continue to hold you tight, and work in and with you to make you whole…

I pray for healing, and reconciliation, and for your joy and faith to grow…

I’m not looking for a hookup, but rather for THE hookup- for you to hook up to the Lord who loves you and cling to Him when life tells you He doesn’t… He’s your sustaining healing force- that’s why we call Him life support. :o)

Feel free to reach out should you ever need a true friend…

In this day and age we bear the benefit of electronic correspondence…

Any one of my emails goes straight to my phone, and as I end this letter, I pray that the Lord gives you a taste of TRUE wine for the soul…

Love,

~The Wordsmith

thelioneffect.weebly.com (email on the site)

Leave a Reply

