Should Have

When the crowds began to stone me

And my friends began to express doubt

When my life began to french kiss the dirt

And my vision failed…

When the sun rose, bleeding the darkness

When the stars dripped with warning

When the grave began calling me like it knew me

And my feet began to expire…

When the dust failed to settle

And the fruit never ripened

When I could no longer spawn greatness

And having you pressed against my chest became the irresistible thorn piercing my side…..

I should have let you go.

**

¬The Wordsmith

Leave a Reply

